UP | HOME

Stephen Wheeler

eLearning Technologist

A New Leaf

September always feels like the start of a new year, more so than the actual turning of the year in January. I suppose it’s because I’ve grown up with the start of the new school year and the new university year in September and October, and as I’ve always worked in the education sector, this feeling has been reinforced over a lifetime.

With this new year feeling, it’s time to knuckle down to do something after several years of personal set-back, global pandemic and family bereavements.

I’m not short of things: I’ve got a new work project designing a Masters programme in Law; there’s the Institute of Teaching fellowship project to get on with which will hopefully encourage me to re-engage with my PhD.

Then there’s my new “lock-down” hobby: re-purposing old broken radios as internet radios. I’ve completed two so far, built two from scratch and have three old radios waiting in the wings.

Lots of things to do. I must get going.